Happy New Year!!!

Today is a special day! So special that I don’t know anyone–besides myself–who celebrates new years three weeks before ringing in a new year. If there’s no one that comes to mind, consider me the first. Today I celebrate my 25th year of life and I plan on doing things differently.

Usually I’d make plans to go out and celebrate with my friends and boyfriend accompanied with a few drinks, or put a narcissist comment on social media, but for some reason I didn’t have an appetite for either one. Of course my age signified I’m a little too old for those celebratory behaviors, but I felt the need for change. I wanted something that I could carry with me for the years to come. Moments that would make my loved ones and I proud.

It took a few moments to figure out what exactly I was looking for, but I think I have it. Here’s what I came up with for my new year resolution:

Living a lifestyle focused on spiritual growth–invest my time into the Truth, inherit the attitude of giving rather receiving, and walking by faith and not by sight. Plus–most of the time–your outer being reflects what’s going on in the inside of you, so I know for sure I’ll feel and look physically healthier.

Invest in relationships worth saving–delete a few people from my phone and social media. No need to carry baggage PERIOD.

Speak Life–there’s life and death in your words. I’m speaking prosperity and strength over myself for every circumstance that is against me.

Go for my dreams— be less concerned about people not liking my work and being more focused on doing what I am destined do and that is inspiring as many people as possible.

I’m sure my resolutions will double in size before the actual new year, but it’s a start. When I decided to make my life less about old habits and decisions, a war broke out between the new me and the naysayers. My boxing match went a little something like this:

“Why would you set goals far beyond your reach? You’ve been without for so long, why would you want to invest in someone else’s well-being? Didn’t you plan to make a difference within your lifestyle before and failed?”

My response.

“Yes, I failed ample times, but it’s worth getting up and trying again.”

Startled? Not at all. That battle fused my desire to be bigger and better than the person I was the day before, to shoot higher than I’ve shot before, to start my change today because tomorrow is never guaranteed.

All-in-all, why would I plan to make a change tomorrow  when I can celebrate change today?

I wish myself a merry birthday and a prosperous new year!!

Leave a Reply

