Are You a Fan or Follower?

” Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God” Philippians 4:6.

When I got a hold of Philippians 4:6 I was super excited. You mean to tell me I can ask God for anything and not have to worry how things are going to work out? I wasted no time stretching my head to the sky with my hand out asking for whatever it was I wanted.

The first fourteen words of Philippians 4:6 were my favorite. Every time I saw or thought of something I wanted those were the first words to come to mind and out of my mouth.  But little did I know I would get bored with asking God for things…especially out of  greed.

Every prayer became about me. God can you, God can I have this, God can I have that. I literally begin to wear myself out. At that point I became irritated with myself or should I say the Holy Spirit became frustrated with me.

The idea of me getting on my knees, going before God in greed…the insincerity of it all didn’t feel right. I felt as though my spirit wanted to jump out of me as if He couldn’t take it anymore.  Heck as a human-being I couldn’t stand myself, but it was at that time I believe God placed His request in my heart. Instead of asking out of selfishness, why not start practicing Philippians 4:6 in its entirety? At first my human nature rejected God’s idea.  But who was I kidding?! Greater is He that is within me than He that is in the world! 1 John 4:4.

I couldn’t bare another moment of being human natures puppet so I complied with God’s request. During the day, afternoon, evening and night all I did was give thanks. I just wanted to give him thanks and from that point on I couldn’t stop.  He didn’t only deserve me coming to Him as my provider, but He also deserved  my thanksgiving. Those three words “Thank you God” is what He wanted and wants in return. After that revelation I felt fulfilled, rejuvenated, and relieved.

Now don’t get me wrong I still make my request known to God, but I’ve also learned to go to Him for who He is and not just for what He can do.  All in all guys, when it comes to God’s word look at it and heed it with its entirety. He’s more than His helping hand.

I hope this serves you all well.

Leave a Reply

