A Day of Hope and Encouragment After Trump Takes the 2016 Election

wordpress(1).jpg

“I will lift my eyes to the Maker. I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes to You.” – Bebo Norman

I can’t remember falling asleep, but I remember waking up with my right hand over my heart (strange) and nausea in my stomach. Are the results in?

I stared at my phone praying to God “please help us” as though I had already been informed of the outcome. At that time I checked my phone only to find my youngest sister’s text message, “Trump won”.

Whoa! that’s a blow. A blow so forceful that I contemplated staying in bed all day and aborting my morning routine of 1 hour of praise, worship, and prayer. The presidential election flipped my current impression of life and views of the distant future upside down.

Panicked I knew that my faith walk and trust fall in God would waver as I begin to question His sovereignty to provide and care for me and those I love.

  1. Will authority be able to continue to express their hate for people of color without repercussions?
  2. What if Trump’s offensive remarks and lack of good judgement starts a war?
  3. What would his response be regarding hate crime against those who are in support of same-sex marriage, different practices of spirituality, etc ? 

GOD WHAT ABOUT IT?!

Prayers of hope, prosperity, love, understanding, compassion, and unity for the current and future generations had suddenly gone deem as I focused upon the sentence made. To make matters worse I decided to take to Facebook to share in the disgrace and fury with the people opposed to Trump.

I wasn’t surprised to find some of my friends celebrating Trump’s win (maybe one of them), but what really surprised me is the number of people who disowned God. I remember seeing “God no longer exists to me. I am an Atheist now and I know no God”.

So much disappointment, so much anger, so many disagreements, so many opinions, so many regrets. Post after post I grew even more disappointed in knowing everyone around me felt defeated and hopeless. But there was nothing more disappointing than receiving conviction from the Holy Spirit because of my lack of remembering the God I serve.

And the Lord, He it is that doth go before thee; He will be with thee, He will not fail thee, neither forsake thee; fear not, neither be dismayed. – Deuteronomy 31:8

Drowning in the spirits of discouragement and defeat, God reminded me that HE is in control of all things. He noted that in the time of testing His people tend to forget what He instructs them to do (such as instructions like Deuteronomy 31:8). He also advised that our faith shouldn’t be in man, but in Him alone. Last, but not least in the time of tribulation we shouldn’t take our eyes off the one who sits on the throne above all the earth.

Let this season shake up your faith to trust in the will and the way of God. Fear not and know that “All things work together for the good of them that love God who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28).

Look up and know where your help comes from.

XOXO AsToldByErin

One comment

  1. In a world of so much uncertainty you have to continue to pray. You can be in this world and not of this world. God still sits on the throne. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and encouragement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

