Bible Verses, Music, and Practices that Can Help in Your Season of Adversity and Transition

For the past 8 months my faith walk, willingness to be obedient, and sincerity of surrendering to God’s will has been under intense pressure. Most of what I found comfort in– relationships, jobs, finances, and other treasured values–have been pulled from underneath me in the time I needed them the most. Why? All so that God may receive all the glory and that I may know my place under His sovereignty.

God has been shifting me from man power to divine power by providing me wisdom and experience through these trying times.  He has shifted my thoughts of self-reliance to His reliance so that I may know where my help comes from. He has isolated me from distractions in order that I may fix my eyes on Him and things above. He has been removing anything in the form of idolatry so that I may know who is the true living God and who gets me life. However, accepting this process hasn’t been easy.

So to refrain from throwing in the towel altogether there are a few things I began to pay attention to. Here’s are a few pointers noted throughout my process:

  • Seeking God in Prayer and in His Word – Prayer is another form of conversation with God and His word is a form of His response to you.
  • Seeking God in Praise and Worship – He can speak to you and/or your situation through songs. Plus this time of vulnerability can also help you express to God what you’re feeling when you can’t seem to sum the words up yourself.
  • Start a Journal – God never wants us to forget where we’ve come from, yet alone how He’s pulled us through. Documenting your season can serve as a nudge of encouragement when you face similar trials in the future.

If you are struggling to release your will power, to be strong in tribulation, to remain of good encourage, I hope the scriptures, musical selections, and pointers that helped me in my time of drought, loneliness, fear, and weakness will help you as well.

Uplifiting Scriptures

Matthew 6:33 But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you.

John 16:33 I’ve told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid, do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

James 1:3 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trails of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

Proverbs 3:5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding.

Thessalonians 5:16-18: Rejoice always, pray continually, and give thanks.

Proverbs 12:1 To learn you must love discipline it is stupid to hate correction.

Ephesians 3:12 In Him and through faith we may approach God with freedom and confidence.

Psalm 143: 10 Teach me to do your will for you are my God ! Let your good spirit lead me on level ground.

John 14: 21 Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me.

Psalm 94: 19 When anxiety was great within me your consolation brought me joy.

Music of Inspiration

Dear Younger Me by Mercy Me

A lot of the time we regret some of the decisions we make and wish if we knew then what we know now my life  would have turned out much differently. Dear Younger Me reminds us that we are holy, righteous, redeemed, set apart, brand new, and free indeed no matter the choices we make or life has made for us.

Fragile Heart by Yolanda Adams 

In moments of confusion, fear, anger, and pain we tend to forget–at some point– that our eyes must stay fixed upon God and that by doing so we are reminded He will never leave nor forsake us no matter what space we’re in. Fragile Heart also nudges that we don’t have to be strong in our will power, but in God’s strength.

I Understand by Smokie Norful

God why me? Do you see what I’m going through? Do you hear my prayers? Will you come through? I Understand is God’s response to our requests and yes, He understands everything we are going through as He saw the same events through Jesus Christ.

He Will Carry You by Troy Sneed 

We were never meant to be strong on our own, but by the spirit of God. Christ also tells us to cast our cares upon Him for He cares (1 Peter 5:7). God is willing and able.

Crazy Faith by John Waller 

God will call us to release our prize possessions and familiarity to live a life after Him. With this He tests our obedience, faith and ability to trust Him. Through it all following Him is the best way to go.

Before you go help me by:

  • Sharing uplifting scriptures and inspirational songs that have helped you pull through
  • Providing other methods of communicating with God and/or receiving a word from Him
  • Like this post
  • Share this post

XOXO AstoldbyErin

One comment

  1. So encouraging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

