At the Father’s Feet

The imagery of a woman crawling to her Fathers feet appears the second I close my eyes. Not a word out of her mouth, but her spirit seeks for water and understanding.

I clearly hear a confession that she’s never been good at coping with the idea of being short of His glory and has questioned herself and her Father about her short comings.

“I’ve beat myself across the head with reminders that as long as I am intertwined with this flesh I will never be the perfection you seek for me to be. I am banging at the doors of my flesh as I desire to escape its contradictions to your word. I have graveled at your feet on countless occasions and find myself yet at your feet again. When will this spirit of grief and turmoil end?”

She sobs from time to time as she seeks Him profusely. She even asks Him what more can she do to please Him. And although He’s answered her before and she followed His commands she still finds herself seeking perfection.

Quote, ” If I could just get it right I know you’d be pleased with me. If I could stop doubting, if I could stop being fearful, if I could stop being anxious, if I could follow your every command, if could just get it right I know you’d be pleased with me.”

Slumped over because of her failure to completely please God the way she knows how –in her own will power– she seeks a spirit that lives within her, the Holy Spirit.

Quickly she is reminded that:

“For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God. Being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in His blood, to declare His righteousness for the remission of sins that are past.” Romans 3:23

“My grace is sufficient for you for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

“It is Christ that died for us and was raised to life for us and He’s sitting in the place of honor at God’s right hand pleading for us…Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? And I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come..can separate us from the love of God.” Romans 8:34-39  

“Not by might nor by power, but by my spirit thus saith the Lord.” Zechariah 4:6

Too often I forget that God is willing to carry me through, love me through, and see me through all my imperfections.

What an amazing God I serve, an awesome friend I have in Jesus, and an everlasting comfort in the Holy Spirit.

2 comments

  1. Beautifully written about the struggles of acceptance and striving to be perfect. No one is perfect but the one who made us all, yet he still loves us inspite of our being flawed.

    I loved this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

